• Nikki

Using Essential Oils for Meditation and Yoga with the 7 Chakras

The word chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit, a sacred and holy language of Hinduism and Buddhism. Chakra is pronounced shock + ra with a “ra” sound as in oakra.

The first writings about the chakras are dated at approximately 1000 B.C., and their origins are based strongly within Hinduism, but the concepts of chakras and energy centers is also fundamental within the Ayurvedic concepts of pranaand the Chinese practice of qi.

It is believed that we each have seven primary chakras and 21 lesser chakras are thought to also exist. Chakras are also sometimes referred to as energy centres or vortices. Each chakra is thought to resemble a colored wheel that spins in a clockwise direction, and the chakras are thought to each spin at a different rate or frequency.

Chakras are invisible to the naked eye and interconnect our physical and spiritual selves. Each of the seven chakras is tied directly to a specific region and nerve center of the body.

It is believed that each of the chakras absorbs and filters the energy that we emit through our thoughts and actions as well as through the thoughts and actions of all those that we come into contact with. When one of the chakras is out of balance as a result of negative energy flowing through it, it begins to spin too slowly or too fast. When a chakra is not balanced, it can effect that physical region of the body and also effect very specific aspects of our spiritual and emotional selves.

Even if you question if the chakras truly exist, the underlying principles of the chakras can still play a special part during prayer, meditation or when trying to improve your physical, spiritual or emotional outlook. By using the principles of the chakras to help examine where the body and emotions are out of balance, you can focus prayers and use of essential oils to to seek advise from our heavenly father to help with balancing the chakras with the bodies of emotions.

Methods of Balancing the Chakras using essential oils

Massage, reflection, meditation and energy work using essential oils is thought to help restore specific balance to each of the chakras.

The 7 Main Primary Chakras in brief detail


The Root Chakra

Centres upon our core needs for survival, security and livelihood. When the Root Chakra is unbalanced, you will feel ungrounded, confused and lack the ability to move forward. Without a balanced Root Chakra, it is impossible to fully balance the other chakras

The Sacral Chakra

influences personal creativity ranging from artistic expression to creative problem solving. Healthy sexual desire and expression is also controlled by the Sacral Chakra, though communicating sexual desires is also directly affected by the Throat Chakra

The Solar Plexus

Chakra strongly influences your identity and sense of self worth. Imbalances can take on polar opposites ranging from low self-esteem all the way to arrogant, selfish behavior

The Throat Chakra

Strongly influences our ability to effectively communicate our thoughts, opinions, desires and feelings – and just as importantly, our ability to hear, listen and understand those in our daily lives. The Throat Chakra not only influences what we hear and say through verbal communication, but it also influences body language and written communication methods

The Heart Chakra

Strongly influences the ability to give and receive love in a healthy way. The Heart Chakra also influences our ability to cope with the sadness of betrayals of a loved one or losing a loved one due to breakup, abandonment or death.


  1. Elevation

  2. Location: Top of head

  3. Benefits: Bliss, transcendence


  1. Serenity

  2. Location: Brow

  3. Benefits: Perception, intuition


  1. Whisper

  2. Location: Throat

  3. Benefits: Communication, expression


  1. Breathe

  2. Location: Center of heart

  3. Benefits: Acceptance, compassion


  1. DigestZen

  2. Location: Solar Plexus

  3. Benefits: Self-confidence, willpower


  1. Citrus Bliss

  2. Location: Lower abdomen

  3. Benefits: Creativity, healthy relationships


  1. Balance

  2. Location: Coccyx, legs, feet

  3. Benefits: Stability, ground emotions

Never use more than 3 oils in a routine as there is a lot of energy being built in a yoga session and you want to prevent overload. If you are doing a class please mention before a class on skin sensitivity before starting and keep an eye on on the mood of the room

#chakras #meditationandchakras #solarplexusanddoterra #meditationanddoterra #heartchakraanddoterra #throatchakraanddoterra #meditationwithessentialoils #chakrasandessentialoils #solarplexuschakra #7chakrasanddoterra #yogaandessentialoils

0 views0 comments